

The International Hydrofoil Society (IHS) 2024 Mandles Prize for Hydrofoil Excellence

Award Announcement Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

30 July 2024

First Prize (one at \$2,500):

"VPP-Driven Parametric Design of AC75 Hydrofoils"

By: Rafael Tannenberg

University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Faculty Advisors: Professor Stephen W. Boyd and Professor Stephen R. Turnock

Background on This Year's Competition

The entries for the 2024 Mandles Prize reflected several hydrofoil-related research and technology topics. We are fortunate to have an outstanding panel of judges to review the entries, and they determined that this year's First Prize winner is Rafael Tannenberg from the University of Southampton, UK.

It should be noted that this paper has been published in this exact form by the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) in the Journal of Sailing Technology in 2023, volume 8, issue 1, pp. 161 – 181. SNAME has allowed the publication of the paper through the Mandles Prize and SNAME remains the copyright holder. Rafael Tannenberg is the author of the paper and Professors Stephen W. Boyd and Stephen R. Turnock are his supervisors from the University of Southampton.

Our appreciation and thanks go to the many prominent schools of the previous (2014-2023) Mandles Prize cycles and the students and faculty advisors that have competed. They include: Australian Maritime College, University of Tasmania; Cedarville University; Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland; Florida Institute of Technology; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Stevens Institute of Technology; University of Florida, Ghent University, Hamburg University of Technology, Hamburg Germany, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology; Technical University of Delft, Netherlands; Tolani Maritime Institute, India; University of Genoa, Italy; University of New Orleans; University of New South Wales, Australia; University of

Southampton, United Kingdom; Newcastle University, United Kingdom; United States Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland; Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Poland; Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; and Webb Institute, Glen Cove, New York.

The International Hydrofoil Society thanks entrants for their interest in hydrofoil technology and for their excellent work. We wish all of you the best in your professional careers and sincerely hope that you will continue to participate in activities of the IHS.

By virtue of applying for the 2024 IHS Mandles Prize, all students and their faculty advisors are now members of the International Hydrofoil Society. We invite them and anyone who is interested to volunteer for our not-for-profit efforts encouraging hydrofoil research, development, and applications.

Now, with the 2024 IHS Mandles Prize cycle completed, it's time to think ahead to the 2025 competition. The Announcement and Rules for 2025 will be posted soon on www.foils.org. The sooner preparations begin, the greater the chances of submitting winning entries. In that regard, please note that the 2025 Rules will ask that students send IHS (via email to markbebar@juno.com) an informal expression of interest in competing by 6 Dec 2024. Those who decide to submit an entry must submit a Competition Application Form (page 6 of the Rules) by 28 Feb 2025.

Good luck, and we look forward to welcoming all of you and those who follow in your footsteps next year.

Finally, as we enter the 12th year of the Mandles Prize for Hydrofoil Excellence, we want to express our sincere appreciation to Martinn and Connie Mandles for their continuing support as the benefactors and namesakes of the IHS Mandles Prize.

Sincerely,

Ray Vellinga, President, International Hydrofoil Society

email: ihspresident2016@gmail.com

Mark Bebar, Vice-President, International Hydrofoil Society

email: markbebar@juno.com